2016

I’d like to start off by saying how extremely proud I am of my mom fighting cancer another year! She’s been incredibly strong this year. It hasn’t been easy, but she is continuing to fight and words cannot express how thankful I am to have her. I just remember going in for foot surgery this October and how scared I was (being my first surgery and all). Doctor told me the procedure was going to be 20-30 min and only needed local anesthesia. I was so scared I wanted to be put to sleep for the procedure. I can only imagine what my mom has gone through.

There are so many things that 2016 has thrown at me. 2016 has given me many opportunities once again, some I was able to capitalize on and some I came close to pulling through. This year was a really defining year. Although I’ve had more success this year (ranking wise), I think out of all the years on the professional tour this one has been the toughest.

As tennis players you never want to focus on your ranking, but you do need to be aware of it and being aware of the ranking helps you set goals. In the beginning of the year I was playing a lot of close matches against good opponents, but couldn’t quite breakthrough in any of those matches. Then I saw my ranking drop in April as well as a foot injury that set me back this year. It’s tough because it’s your 5th year on the professional tour and you know you can compete against the best in the world, but results aren’t quite getting there. Then before you know a lot of outside voices are starting to influence you. A lot of times it’s from friends and family who ask you questions about your career choice and 100% they don’t mean anything when they ask these questions. It also doesn’t help when you get on social media and start comparing yourself to other peoples lives. The snowball effect. It’s something I think many of us are guilty of.

I am proud of myself for fighting through those tough times this year though. I figured something out towards the end of the year and my results started to show. It was unfortunate my injuries took me out of competition the last 3 months of the year, but I’m glad I was able to make a big breakthrough this year.

It’s been awhile since I’ve spent Thanksgiving and Christmas with family in the same year and I’m extremely grateful for that time. As we get older it gets tougher and tougher to have the whole family get together.

img_1988

img_1986

 

 

It’s been a great 2016 and looking forward to 2017!

 

 

 

JJ

 

 

 

One thought on “2016

  1. will you be playing davis cup for taiwan this year?

Leave a Reply

