New Beginning

I don’t even know where to begin…

It’s been an incredible 2 weeks in China. It has been over a year since reaching my first Challenger final and all the expectations of myself to keep up that level really just made me lose sight of enjoying tennis. I started focusing on results, chasing ranking points, focusing on wins and losses, as well as other player’s wins and losses. I lost sight of why I love this game and why I play this sport. Playing at a professional level requires a level of determination to want to be the best so in essence you treat it as a job, as it should be. But I can’t tell you how many times I haven gotten off the court in the past year just shaking my head and asking myself, “What am I doing?” Wanting to quit. It’s easy to think that way though when all you think about is the end result.

I play this sport because I enjoy the challenge, the problem solving, and the grind. Not the results. Results follow if you focus on the process. And I can’t thank my doubles partner enough for helping me through these two weeks. Always encouraging me and getting me in the right mindset. Thanks JP!  As well as all my friends and family for sticking with me. It’s just the beginning. Time to get to work!!

Spent the first week of this trip celebrating one of my best friend's wedding! Congrats CS and Mind!

Spent the first week of this trip celebrating one of my best friend’s wedding! Congrats CS and Mind!

First time going to Kazakhstan! And no luck of finding Borat..

IMG_1457

IMG_1459

IMG_1467

And then the most epic travel day from Kazakhstan to China. From my bag being stuck in the security X-ray monitor because the people in front of me decided to put their passports on the belt and it got sucked underneath to spending a 4 hour layover in some old musty hotel the airline provided.

IMG_1469

IMG_1471

IMG_1474

5am……

Finally making it to Chengdu! Why we are smiling, not sure

Finally making it to Chengdu! Why we are smiling, not sure

To new friends in Chengdu!

To new friends in Chengdu!

To JP throwing me under the bus at the player's party. This girl wanted JP to sing a song in front of everyone and he said, "I'll only sing if Jason dances."

To JP throwing me under the bus at the player’s party. This girl wanted JP to sing a song in front of everyone and he said, “I’ll only sing if Jason dances.” All for a cute stuffed Panda.

I got one of these for the first time!

I got one of these for the first time!

To new friends in Qingdao!

To new friends in Qingdao!

#taiwan

#taiwan

 

Thanks for all the love!

 

 

JJ

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

