BKK —> LAX

It’s 4:30am and I’ve just arrived at the Bangkok airport with ample time to spare for my 6:50am flight back home. I’m in a bit of daze already since I decided to hang out with friends instead of getting rest before the 18 hour journey (best decision though). I booked my flight through United airlines. The first flight taking me to Tokyo via Air Nippon Airlines and the second flight taking me to LA via United. That meant at the Bangkok airport I needed to check in at the Air Nippon airlines desk. So I’m checking in and the lady tells me my name is not in their system. I show her my confirmation number and she makes a few phone calls……nothing. She tells me I was never issued a ticket and that I should call a United agent.

I’m on Skype with a United agent and I explain my situation. Apparently, he’s never heard of a situation like mine so he has to put me on hold and talk to the ticketing office as well as his supervisor. Five minutes go by, 10 minutes, and then 20. At this point I’m delirious from lack of sleep, my stomach is howling for food, my bladder is about to explode, and now it’s 5:15am and I’m starting to worry I may not get on this flight. I just want to go home! Still on hold….I was looking at my Skype credits and they were quite low so I decided to add some credits quickly on my phone and of course my call ends because of the transaction. It’s now 5:50am and I’m really starting to panic. On the phone with the 2nd United agent, I tell him my situation and tell him to HURRY! I’M GOING TO MISS MY FLIGHT THAT I DON’T HAVE A TICKET FOR!! He explains to me why my ticket wasn’t issued. Apparently Air Nippon rejected the price I paid for because I didn’t buy the ticket 24 hours in advance so the airline didn’t have enough time to approve the sale. I ended up paying a difference of $150. Can a lesson be learned here? Don’t buy flight tickets less than 24 hours before?

It’s been a long 3 weeks since my last post leaving China. But a memorable one. I got to play in Taiwan as a Taiwanese player for the first time.

IMG_1219

Got to see friends and family!

IMG_1293

IMG_1205

IMG_1216

IMG_1226

And of course Taipei night market…

IMG_1220

IMG_1221

Met old and new friends in Seoul….

IMG_1259

IMG_1260

IMG_1251

IMG_1254

And ended in Bangkok with a title and friends to celebrate it with!

IMG_1277

 

Do we look alike?

IMG_1274

Trying to fight some jetlag back home now. I slightly injured my foot back in Seoul and was playing on it all week in Bangkok. Will be taking a short time off and hopefully back on the road again soon!

 

 

 

JJ

 

 

Leave a Reply

