Umbrella Life

It quite possibly could have been the longest week known to mankind. Three rain-delays during the week plus 8-9 hour days. Eating the same meal everyday and average wifi connection sure took it’s toll on everyone. But you know what? It actually wasn’t all that bad. I got to know some of the players I didn’t really know that well before. Lots of downtime with average wifi connection to the world really brought players closer together this week. It’s quite interesting though how player’s hang out mostly with their respective country. The Aussies, Chinese, Taiwanese, Russians, and Americans. I guess it makes sense with the language and all.

IMG_1175

IMG_1193

IMG_1180

IMG_1171

IMG_1183

IMG_1172

Funny story about this guy. It's the day of my quarterfinal match, Friday. I"m first on at 10am. Tournaments usually provide a shuttle bus from the hotel to tennis courts on a timetable. Unfortunately, the time that I wanted to go to the courts was not available so I decided to take a taxi. As I walked out of the hotel a man approached me and said he could take me. Taxi would cost me about $2.50. I asked the guy how much he charged. He said, "Don't worry about it. The ride is on me." Too good to be true right? I decided to go with him anyways. I was being really friendly and chatting up a storm with him b/c of the free ride. When we arrived he asked where his money was right as I was taking that selfie with him. China in a nutshell....

Funny story about this guy. It’s the day of my quarterfinal match, Friday. I’m first on at 10am. Tournaments usually provide a shuttle bus from the hotel to tennis courts on a timetable. Unfortunately, the time that I wanted to go to the courts was not available so I decided to take a taxi. As I walked out of the hotel a man approached me and said he could take me. Taxi would cost me about $2.50. I asked the guy how much he charged. He said, “Don’t worry about it. The ride is on me.” Too good to be true right? I decided to go with him anyways. I was being really friendly and chatting up a storm with him b/c of the free ride. When we arrived he asked where his money was right as I was taking that selfie with him. China in a nutshell….

 

Next stop, Taiwan! Need to get through this delay though. Been delayed at the Nanjing airport for 2 hours now!

IMG_1199

Until next time China

 

 

 

JJ

 

Leave a Reply

