Autopilot

It’s been a tough last couple of months. As an athlete you want to minimize the amount of injuries you have. After straining my rib muscles in late July, I was completely out. For someone is active all day, not being able to do anything is probably one of the worst feelings. You feel helpless. The U.S. Open rolled around after doing 4 weeks of nothing. Being that it was going to be my first U.S. Open, I went. Probably not the best decision health wise as my injury got worse. Another 3 weeks of nothing. I’ve never really had any serious injuries (knock on wood) that took me out of the game for months and months, but at this point I was so frustrated. Injuries are a tough pill to swallow and the only thing you can do is wait. By the end of September I was beginning to show signs of improvement. I slowly started to get back into shape and into the routine of things. As tough as waiting around on an injury can be, getting back to form and shape is just as tough as well. So much strength is lost after weeks. The good thing though was that, I’ve been playing this game for so long that it didn’t take long for me to get back into the swing of things with tennis.

I played my first couple tournaments these past 2 weeks in Northern California. It was such a great feeling being able to compete again. Maybe I didn’t get as many wins as I would have liked, but it was a great first two tournaments back. I was able to meet some great people during my time there and also meet up with old friends. As well as an impromptu trip to Michigan, only to see them lose to Michigan State in the last 8 seconds, devastating.

Writing this today and reflecting on the last couple of months. As bad as this may seem, maybe getting injured was not so bad. I’m a true believer in “everything happens for a reason.” Sometimes I think we go through life on autopilot. We have our routines and we just go like that energizer bunny. Especially me. I’m constantly traveling from week to week, country to country. If there’s no traveling I’m back at home training for most of the day and all week. I’m glad I got the chance to take a short break though. I got to spend time with friends and family and also the chance to rest my body, physically and mentally. I think it’s so important to have these short breaks in a tennis season as it keeps a healthier life. I’m hoping I can take this event in my life to heart and use it and maybe even help others understand it too!


 IMG_0707

JJ

Leave a Reply

