Where am I?

I have made my way to Tianjin, China. After spending two days here now I am a bit shocked and confused as to where I am. At times it feels as if I am not in China. There’s a lot of western influence here or at least it seems. There are more international people here, markets specifying in imported goods like this one..

IMG_2154

I’m guessing this Shaq Soda is a product of America, but I sure haven’t seen this in the States. The shopping plaza I’ve been going to that’s fairly close to the hotel feels like home the minute you step foot inside. Baskin Robbins, Dairy Queen, and Starbucks. You name it and it’s here. Never have I ever experienced this in China.

Anyhow my first match is set for tomorrow. My foot is slowly getting better. Thankfully the trainer here is an old friend who I worked with in Hong Kong a few years back. Thanks Eunice!

IMG_2152

I have to thank the Hong Kong team and coaches for putting me through practice in blistering heat during my week off.

IMG_2145

A truly and special thanks to my “family” in Hong Kong. They didn’t have to go out of their way taking me to doctors, feeding me, letting me stay, and most importantly making me feel as if I was home. I’m grateful to have these people in my life!
IMG_2050

Home away from home wouldn’t feel like it without friends too.

Congrats to Sean and Cleo on their baby boy!

Congrats to Sean and Cleo on their baby boy!

It’s been an interesting trip thus far. Receiving a birthday card from a “fan” upon entering the tennis court for practice today. Thank you! Cheers to being 25!

IMG_2151

Last but not least. A very Happy Father’s Day to my dad! Thank you for all the love and support you constantly give me!

IMG_0478

 

 

 

JJ

 

One thought on “Where am I?

  1. Happy Birthday! Saw the news about Bruce/Adam Steinberg – curious to know your thoughts on both.

    Good luck with the match tomorrow! Jeff

Leave a Reply

