Behind the Scenes

Had a good showing last week in Calabasas, making it to my first finals this year. Even though I came up a bit short I wasn’t too beat up about my loss. Optimistic. I didn’t play my best throughout the week, but I managed to tough out matches when I wasn’t feeling my best and came within a few points of winning the whole tournament. There is still much more room to improve!

When we watch Athletes perform live or on TV we either see a win or a loss (rarely a tie). Successes and failures. What we hardly see is all the work that is put in behind the scenes. The rigorous practice schedule, countless hours of repetition, and the constant pushing of the body/mind past the limit. The trainers, strength/fitness coaches, coaches, and friends. Where are they? Athletes get most of the praise, but these people behind the scenes are just as important as the performer. Without the proper guidance and support an Athlete can only go so far. Having people in your corner who believe in you even when you doubt yourself at times makes all the difference. These are the people behind my scene.

Dan Johnston

Dan Johnston

Stephen Amritraj

Stephen Amritraj

Vahe

Vahe

Maggie

Maggie

Brad

Brad

Jasmine Sharp

Jasmine Sharp

Chris, Kevin, and the rest of the Ho Family

Chris, Kevin, and the rest of the Ho Family

The Boys

The Boys and my West End Family 

Most important. My family.

Most important. My family.

There are probably many that I missed. I am deeply grateful for all of your support!

 

I’d like to thank the Ferrari family for putting me up last week. It’s not always easy for a UCLA Bruin to host a Wolverine 😉

IMG_4968

 

 

Next stop, Little Rock.

 

 
JJ

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Behind the Scenes

  1. If you’re passing through DFW on your way to LRock, we’ll come to the airport to say “hi.”

    Keep up the good work and the better perspective on this chapter of your life!

    Go Blue, Jeff ps – crazy win last night. One more and our boys come to Dallas for the Final Four!

Leave a Reply

