Mountains, Tunnels, and Things

Week one in Korea didn’t go as well as I would have liked. I think traveling a long distance and losing makes it that much tougher, mentally. There’s an unnecessary pressure that I add to my tennis and to my trip. Recently, I have been putting more pressure on myself to making bigger jumps and to try to go out with a bang before the end of the year (season). November officially marks two years of playing on the pro tour. And I have been judging each match too closely. After a loss I start thinking about life after tennis, what I’m going to do, and if I really want to continue this journey. I guess typical thoughts through tough times.

Big thanks to my family, especially my mom for helping me get through week one. A few days after my loss my mom really talked some sense to me and told me that sometimes you need to look at things with a grain of salt. When one door closes others open. But when the door is still open do everything you can with a positive mind to make it work. I know nothing good ever comes easy, but when those tough times happen it’s hard to accept. That’s also why friends and family are so important. So thanks Mom!

Week 2 in Korea takes me to a city called Yeongwol. Well actually Yeongwol is so small it’s not even considered a city, a county. Daniel Kosokowski and I took a bus from Seoul yesterday.

IMG_1325

 

After traveling 3 hours east through mountains and tunnels we reached finally reached Yeongwol with nothing to see, but mountainous terrain. Almost feels like summer camp or a guided tour. Especially being that there is no internet at the hotel. At least we don’t have to go to an outside restroom. But the scenery is breathtaking, especially during fall season.

IMG_1328

 

IMG_1326

 

 

A few other pictures from the trip so far.

Thanks to friends in Seoul for a traditional Korean dinner!

Thanks to friends in Seoul for a traditional Korean dinner!

DK's breakfast because he was too afraid to eat anything else hahah

DK’s breakfast because he was too afraid to eat anything else hahah

What do you call cheese that's not yours????......

What do you call cheese that’s not yours????……

Week 2 here we go!

 

JJ

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mountains, Tunnels, and Things

  1. Great writing dude. Boarding my Eva air flight to TPE then Macau now. 🙂

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Pingback: Sunday Morning Reading List: The Very Best Articles From This Week In Challenger Tennis | Challenger Tennis

Leave a Reply

