Right Frame of Mind

It’s been an amazing last two weeks. Could not have asked for a better time in Seattle. The Maloney family makes the stay feel like home. Have to thank Chris Ho for making the trip easier. Playing tennis and not having to worry about anything else is ideal. A big thank you to my brother who has helped me tremendously this summer with my travels. And even as busy as he was, he came out and watched me play in Seattle.

IMG_1174

 

IMG_1178

 

IMG_1169

 

IMG_1183

 

After finishing up in Seattle I made the trip back to the Midwest, Illinois. Before arriving I didn’t quite feel like I was in the right frame of mind. I haven’t been finding enjoyment in my last few tournaments. On top of that my back was not in the best shape. The day before the tournament I was just hoping I could manage to get the through the week and find a way to enjoy playing tennis again. When we don’t enjoy what we do we tend not to put as much effort nor do we push ourselves enough.

My first round was everything but enjoyable. Kicking myself every time I lost a point, wondering why in the hell I was playing. I must have cared though because I wouldn’t have stop fighting. I was two points away from losing the match and somehow managed to win. I’m not sure what happened in my second round, but something clicked. I went into the match knowing that it was going to be a long and physical match (my two previous meetings with this opponent lasted over 2 hours each). I was emotionless the whole match. I just went about my business, had a tough first set and played well to close out the match. The biggest thing might have been not getting caught up in the games and points that I lost. If I played the right way and lost the point then how could I get mad. This is something that I’ve worked all summer long to do and all of sudden I started to understand how to do it. Weird. I kept that thought process going through the rest of the tournament. And it won me my second professional title. Funny how things work.

Special thanks to Chris Cha for being a great host!

Special thanks to Chris Cha for being a great host!

Thank you Trainer Brad for getting me through the week!

Thank you Trainer Brad for getting me through the week!

Desse family minus two

Desse family minus two

Yes I know the trophy is backwards...

Yes I know the trophy is backwards…

 

I will be back home in California for the next week!

 

 

JJ

 

 

One thought on “Right Frame of Mind

  1. Dude, emotionless is HUGE.

    The nerves can’t get to you if don’t get emotional.

    Your body knows what to do. Just keep your brain from getting in the way, and you’ll go far. 🙂

    From: jasonjungtennis Reply-To: jasonjungtennis Date: Tuesday, August 13, 2013 2:54 PM To: Kerry Welsh Subject: [New post] Right Frame of Mind

    WordPress.com jasonjungtennis posted: “It’s been an amazing last two weeks. Could not have asked for a better time in Seattle. The Maloney family makes the stay feel like home. Have to thank Chris Ho for making the trip easier. Playing tennis and not having to worry about anything else is idea”

Leave a Reply

