Lucky Loser

I’ve been touring around Southern California (my home) for the past few weeks now. Lost a close round in qualifying last week. And another close one this morning. Luckily the tennis gods are looking out for me this week and granted me a “lucky loser” spot in the main draw. I have never been more excited and happy to take this second chance. How often do second chances like this actually happen? 

I’ve also been learning a lot about myself these past few weeks. It’s been nine tournaments and five months since tennis became my full time commitment. I have to say there have been a lot of ups and downs during those five months. And after getting my first few ATP points I thought the road ahead would get a little easier. But as I have played more tournaments and practiced with top pros like Mardy Fish and Juan Monaco I have realized that my definition of “working hard” is not hard at all. There is always someone that is working harder than you. I have finally realized that if you want something bad enough you will do anything to get there. There will be sacrifices to be made and there will be struggles, but if you put in the work things will work out for itself. 

 

Going to make the most out of this week starting tomorrow! 

 

 

 

– JJ

One thought on “Lucky Loser

  1. Completely agree with you Jason. Keep grindin and good luck

Leave a Reply

